

## AERO CLUB OF WASHINGTON CALL FOR NOMINATIONS: NAA WRIGHT BROTHERS MEMORIAL TROPHY

DEADLINE: April 30, 2025

To be considered for submission by the Aero Club of Washington to the National Aeronautic Association.

## **AWARD DESCRIPTION & CRITERIA:**

The Aero Club of Washington's Board of Governors is pleased to announce that nominations are being accepted for the 2025 Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy.

The Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy is administered and presented by the National Aeronautic Association (NAA) at the Aero Club of Washington's Annual Wright Memorial Dinner in December of each year. This year's dinner will be held on December 12, 2025 in Washington, DC. Details about the dinner will be announced after the NAA makes its final determination for the 2025 honoree.

The Wright Brothers Memorial Trophy is awarded to a living American for "significant public service of enduring value to aviation in the United States." "Public service" is meant to include either (1) public service whether as a full-time employee of government or as an unpaid volunteer serving on a government commission or agency, or (2) service which made a major contribution of enduring value to the public. Aviation is interpreted broadly, to include aerospace activities.

Nominations are due to the Aero Club by **April 30, 2025**, and should be emailed to <u>stephanie@aeroclub.org</u>, copying <u>president@aeroclub.org</u>.

## **NOMINATION CRITERIA:**

The nomination must be a PDF document limited to three (3) pages; page layout and size and type of font may be of the writer's choosing. Attachments, reprints of articles, etc., will not be considered unless incorporated into and made part of the three pages. The nomination document should begin with contact information for both the nominator and nominee including name, email address, mailing address, and phone number. The body of the nomination should include information justifying why the nominee is worthy of this award; give complete and concise details with such background information as considered pertinent along with any other relevant information that would assist in determining the worthiness of the nominee with particular attention to the criteria above. We also ask that you please confirm with your nominee that they are willing and able to attend the 77th Annual Wright Memorial Dinner on Friday, December 12, 2025 in Washington, DC, should they be selected as the honoree.

## PAST RECIPIENTS OF THE NAA WRIGHT BROTHERS MEMORIAL TROPHY:

| 1948 | Dr. William F. Durand         | 1986         | Joseph F. Sutter                      |
|------|-------------------------------|--------------|---------------------------------------|
| 1949 | Charles A. Lindbergh          | 1987         | Allen E. Paulson                      |
| 1950 | Grover C. Loening             | 1988         | Sam B. Williams                       |
| 1951 | Dr. Jerome Hunsaker           | 1989         | Thomas Jones                          |
| 1952 | Lt Gen. James Doolittle, USAF | 1990         | Edwin I. Colodny                      |
| 1953 | Carl Hinshaw                  | 1991         | Benjamin A. Cosgrove                  |
| 1954 | Dr. Theodore von Karman       | 1992         | Senator Jake Garn                     |
| 1955 | Dr. Hugh L. Dryden            | 1993         | Gerhard Neumann                       |
| 1956 | Dr. Edward P. Warner          | 1994         | A. L. Ueltschi                        |
| 1957 | Senator Stuart Symington      | 1995         | Russell W. Meyer, Jr.                 |
| 1958 | Dr. John Francis Victory      | 1996         | Frederick W. Smith                    |
| 1959 | William P. MacCracken, Jr.    | 1997         | Charles H. Kaman                      |
| 1960 | Frederick C. Crawford         | 1998         | Edward W. Stimpson                    |
| 1961 | Senator A. S. Mike Monroney   | 1999         | Delford M. Smith                      |
| 1962 | John Stack                    | 2000         | Herbert D. Kelleher                   |
| 1963 | Donald W. Douglas, Sr.        | 2001         | Neil A. Armstrong                     |
| 1964 | Henry F. Guggenheim           | 2002         | Paul P. Poberezny                     |
| 1965 | Jerome Lederer                | 2003         | Senator John Glenn                    |
| 1966 | Juan T. Trippe                | 2004         | Robert Crandall                       |
| 1967 | Igor I. Sikorksy              | 2005         | Edward C. "Pete" Aldridge             |
| 1968 | Senator Warren C. Magnuson    | 2006         | Norman Y. Mineta                      |
| 1969 | William M. Allen              | 2007         | Eugene A. Cernan                      |
| 1970 | C. R. Smith                   | 2008         | Norman Augustine                      |
| 1971 | Senator Howard W. Cannon      | 2009         | Steven Udvar-Hazy                     |
| 1972 | John H. Shaffer               | 2010         | Harrison Ford                         |
| 1973 | Senator Barry M. Goldwater    | 2011         | General Tom Stafford                  |
| 1974 | Dr. Richard T. Whitcomb       | 2012         | Bob Stevens                           |
| 1975 | Clarence "Kelly" Johnson      | 2013         | Marion Blakey                         |
| 1976 | William A. Patterson          | 2014         | Bob Hoover                            |
| 1977 | Lt. Gen. Ira C. Eaker, USAF   | 2015         | Burt Rutan                            |
| 1978 | Senator Jennings Randolph     | 2016         | Colleen Barrett                       |
| 1979 | T. A. Wilson                  | 2017         | General Jack Dailey                   |
| 1980 | Olive Ann Beech               | 2018         | General Lloyd "Fig" Newton            |
| 1981 | Dwayne L. Wallace             | 2019         | Michael Collins                       |
| 1982 | Dr. Willis M. Hawkins         | 2020         | Major General Charles Bolden          |
| 1983 | J. Leland Atwood              | 2021<br>2022 | No Award<br>Colonel Eileen M. Collins |
| 1984 | David S. Lewis                | 2022         | Capt. Robert L. Crippen               |
| 1985 | Harry B. Combs                | 2024         | Ben Baldanza                          |
|      | •                             |              |                                       |